Facebook Twitter Subscribe to our Newsletter Please Donate

Grattan Institute Governance Structure

Grattan Institute is an independent body governed by a Board of Directors that provides strategic direction. Directors are appointed by a council of members, whose advice is sought but who do not otherwise influence the direction or publications of the Institute. Grattan Institute Directors come from leaders in business, academia, government and the law.

The members of the Board are:

The Hon. Alex Chernov AC QC (Chairman)

Australian jurist and was Governor of Victoria from 2011 to 2015

Ms Carol Austin

Investment Services Director, Contango Asset Management and a Director of HSBC Bank Australia Limited

Professor Glyn Davis AC

Vice-Chancellor, University of Melbourne

Ms Geraldine Doogue

Journalist and broadcaster

Mr Chris Eccles

Secretary, Department of Premier and Cabinet (Vic)

Professor John Funder AO

Senior Fellow, Prince Henry’s Institute of Medical Research at Monash Medical Centre

The Hon. Dr David Kemp AC

Former Minister for Education, Training and Youth Affairs and for Environment and Heritage

Mr Andrew Mackenzie

BHP Billiton Chief Executive Officer

Jillian Segal AM

Professional company director with a legal and regulatory background

Mr Peter Scanlon

Chairman, Taverners Group and the Scanlon Foundation

Dr Ian Watt AC

Previously Secretary of the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet

The Board has established five subcommittees to oversee the governance and operations of the Institute. These committees are: Public Policy Committee, Investment and Governance Committee, Conflicts of Interest and External Activities Committee, Audit Committee, and Remuneration Committee.

Approved External Activities