Governance - Grattan Institute


Grattan Institute is an independent body governed by a Board of Directors that provides strategic direction. Directors are appointed by a council of members, whose advice is sought but who do not otherwise influence the direction or publications of the Institute. Grattan Institute Directors come from leaders in business, academia, government and the law.

The Board has established five subcommittees to oversee the governance and operations of the Institute. These committees are: Public Policy Committee, Investment Committee, Conflicts of Interest and External Activities Committee, Risk and Audit Committee, and Remuneration Committee.

Board members

Mr Lindsay Maxsted
Public company chair and non-executive director

Ms Carol Austin
Director of HSBC Bank Australia Limited

Dr Andrew Cuthbertson AO
CSL Director and Senior advisor to CSL’s CEO.

Ms Geraldine Doogue AO
Journalist and broadcaster

Ms Kathryn Fagg AO
Chair of CSIRO, and board member of the National Australia Bank

Mr Ian Marshman AM
Honorary Fellow, Melbourne Centre for Study of Higher Education

Professor Michael Wesley
Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Melbourne

Ms Jillian Segal AO
Professional company director with a legal and regulatory background and a member of the Council of the Order of Australia

Dr Ian Watt AC
Previously Secretary of the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet

External activities disclosure

Our staff are required to disclose, and to have approval, to undertake any paid or unpaid external activities to maintain our independence and ensure transparency.


Our work is funded by an endowment and generous people like you.